NLC at miniwanca

So the last time I left off was with my Alaskan adventure. Well..the travels didn’t stop there! My boyfriend Mo came to pick me up from my Alaska trip at the Columbus airport, and we arrived back home around 1:30 am..I had to do my laundry and re-pack so that I was ready to leave for Michigan the following morning at 9am..woof. But it was all so worth it for the experiences to come..and I actually did fine, thanks to my friends Tessa and Katharine who let me chill in the back seat of the car and attempt to sleep (I’ve never been able to do that..but I managed for about half an hour I think!) while they drove and navigated the way.

So why was I in such a hurry to get up and go again? Because I’m nuts. Or because I wanted to get back to this

Yeah, that’s more like it. I headed to my favorite place on Earth, also known as Camp Miniwanca. I am fortunate enough to be on staff with the American Youth Foundation (AYF) there for two weeks in the summer as a part of the National Leadership Conference.

This is a conference for high school age students who come from all over to country (and occasionally internationally) to participate in various aspects of leadership development through a four year program designed to inspire people to discover and develop their personal best, seek balance in physical, mental, social and religious/spiritual living, and to make a positive difference in their communities and in the wider world.

Whoa, I know..a lot to take in there. Basically it’s an incredible experience rife with silliness, seriousness, and inspiration all set on the beautiful sand dunes of Lake Michigan with some of the greatest people I’ve ever been lucky enough to know. I graduated from the program in 2010 and since then have been granted the opportunity to offer my insights and service back as staff.

We had lots of fun with games such as human foosball

And constant random dance parties

The National Leadership Conference is very focused on building community, and I was so glad to have some of my class (my year of the program and our mentors who guided us all 4 years) there with me on staff to represent that community which has grown into a true family.

I left Michigan and only had about five days at home before heading off for Australia, but it was so worth it to connect to new participants and leave fully refreshed, recharged, and ready for my new adventures to come!

I’m now hangin in LAX waiting for my flight to Sydney then Perth, finally..but I’ll leave that story for when I arrive and can post again!!

[edit..I’m in Australia!! I’ll get a post up about my trip and first week hopefully real soon]

Thanks for reading 🙂

Where is your favorite place to travel?

Leave a Reply

